Profile of MEC Sport, Arts, Culture & Recreation


Mrs. Mathabo Selina Leeto

Nokwanje Selina Leeto (also known as Mathabo) was born and bred in Allanridge near Welkom. She entered politics in the early 80s and has been elected to various leadership positions. Her early involvement in politics is illustrated by her serving as the Secretary of the Nyakallong Civic Association from 1992 to 1995 and she is currently a member of the National Executive Committee and National Working Committee of SANCO.

Leeto has been an active member and respected leader of the ANC Women’s League, starting with her election as branch chairperson of the ANC Women’s League Nyakallong branch in 1993 and in 1994 she was elected as the regional chairperson of the Women’s League’s Goldfields region.

During 1996, she was elected to the ANC’s Provincial Executive Committee and also served in the Working Committee. She was elected as the deputy chairperson of the ANC Lejweleputswa region in 2006 and in 2008 became the chairperson of the region. She currently also serves as the Provincial Treasurer of the ANC Women’s League in the Free State Province. She serves as the Deputy President of the South African National Civic Organisation (SANCO), the position to which she was elected in January 2014.

Her involvement with local government started during 1995 when she became a Ward Councillor and the deputy chairperson of the Allanridge Transitional Local Council. In 1996, she became the chairperson of the Executive Committee. She became the Executive Mayor of the Lejweleputswa District Municipality during 2004 and thereafter became the Executive Mayor of the Matjhabeng Local Municipality. She has also served as Provincial chairperson of SALGA Free State and served in the Local Government Water SETA.

Leeto was redeployed as the Executive Mayor of Lejweleputswa District Municipality in 2010 and continues to serve in this position. She believes in collective, decisive leadership and likes sharing ideas that will benefit the people. Mathabo Leeto was appointed as the MEC for the Department of Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation for the Free State in May 2014.