Police Stations


The provincial headquarters of the South African Police Service in the Free State is located in Bloemfontein. There are 110 police stations in the Free State province. 61 Police stations have Victim Support Rooms. The Free State Provincial Commissioner of Police is Lieutenant General K.J Sitole. At July 2012, 11603 sworn officers and 2796 civilians constituted the FS SAPS.


The Constitution of the Republic of South African, 1996 (Act 108 of 1996) provides that the South African Police Service has a responsibility to –

  • prevent, combat and investigate crime;
  • maintain public order;
  • protect and secure the inhabitants of the Republic and their property; and
  • uphold and enforce the law.
  • create a safe and secure environment for all people in South Africa.
  • prevent anything that may threaten the safety or security of any community
  • investigate any crimes that threaten the safety or security of any community
  • ensure criminals are brought to justice; and
  • participation in efforts to address the causes of crime.

Priority Outcome 3:  All People in South Africa Are and Feel Safe

Government, therefore, identified the fight against crime as one of the priorities to be addressed as part of building a better society and country as envisaged in the Constitution, and demanded by all law abiding citizens. Though policing is a national competency, the provincial government is assigned specific responsibilities regarding policing by the Constitution. In terms of the Constitution, each province is entitled to:

  • monitor police conduct,
  • oversee the effectiveness and efficiency of the police service, including receiving reports on the police service,
  • promote good relations between the police and the community,
  • assess the effectiveness of visible policing, and
  • liaise with the cabinet member responsible for policing with respect to crime and policing in the province.

Free State Police Stations