National Skills Fund

The Department of the Premier is responsible for the implementation of programmes of the National Skills Fund. Various learnerships have been implemented. These learnerships provide young people with the opportunity to develop critical skills and gain work experience that will assist then to enter the formal job market. Learnerships implemented by the Department of the Premier are as follows;

  • 130 youth are enrolled in the Information Technology / Technical Support learnership. The youth are from the towns of Welkom, Dewetsdorp, Marquard, Senekal and Excelsior.
  • 130 youth, drawn from the localities of Bloemfontein, Harrismith and Kroonstad, participate in the Engineering learnership, specifically motor mechanics, spray painting and body repairs.
  • 475 youth participate in the Agriculture / Mixed Farming learnership. These youth come from the areas of Bainsvlei and Tierpoort in the Motheo district; Bultfontein, Ventersburg, Bothaville, Soutpan and Wesselsbron in the Lejweleputswa district; Jacobsdal, Fauresmith and Trompsburg in the Xhariep district;  Reitz, Memel, Warden and Petrus Steyn in the Thabo Mofutsanyane district and Cornelia, Viljoenskroon and Villiers in the Fezile Dabi district.
  • An additional 175 youth participate in a further Agriculture learnership as follows;  Fruit packaging in Bethlehem and Ficksburg; plant production in Welkom and Bloemfontein as well as poultry in Botshabelo, Kroonstad and Hoopstad.

440 youth participate in a Construction learnership, specifically, plumbing in Bloemfontein (Mangaung Metropolitan municipality), Wepener, Jacobsdal and Edenburg (Xhariep district); Welkom, Odendalsrus and Boshof (Lejweleputswa district); Steynsrus, Oranjeville, Parys and Sasolburg (Fezile Dabi district) and Frankfort, Fouriesburg, QwaQwa, Clarens and Vrede (Thabo Mofutsanyane district).