News — 20 March 2024
The Cleanest and Greenest Municipality Awards

Tswelopele, Dihlabeng and Mantsopa Local Municipality shine bright at the Cleanest and Greenest Municipality Awards

Today, 19 March 2024 the Free State Provincial Government hosted the Cleanest and Greenest Municipality Awards iat the Bohlokong New Hall in Bethlehem. 

This initiative was part of Premier Mxolisi Dukwana’s priority to develop a Clean and Green Free State.

17 out of  the 18 Free State Local Municipalities participated in the competition where three Local Municipalities shined the brightest

During the ceremony,  Director General: Kopung Ralikontsane awarded Tswelopele Local Municipality with a cash prize of R3 million for being the Cleanest and Greenest Municipality in the Free State.

The first runner up award went to Dihlabeng Local Municipality with a prize of R1.5 million, while Tswelopele Local Municipality came third and won  R1 million.

Deputy Minister for Environment, Forestry and Fisheries, Ms Makhotso Sotyu attended the ceremony where she described the Department’s efforts in funding EPWPs across Local Municipalities.

“Councils nominate their own officials, and we provide them with stipends of R2800,”said Sotyu.

The department has, over the years, continued to make a notable contribution in creating employment and skill development opportunities through implementation of the environment sector employment programmes broadly.

Provincial Head of the Department of Water & Sanitation(DWS) Dr Tseliso Ntili, spoke against pollution while advocating for clean municipalities. He also emphasized the importance of saving water.

“Each and every drop counts, Municipalities should attend to leaking pipes.  If we cannot protect our water sources, we will be in trouble,” lamented Ntili.

The Provincial Head said that Municipalities  that are not doing what they should must receive  punitive action and be taken to court, if necessary.

The Office of the Premier’s Mzwanele Silwana highlighted that a stringent nomination process was followed to ensure that awards were bestowed upon the cream of the crop.

According to Silwana, a multidisciplinary team of specialists from DWS and DESTEA , moderated the applications and employed various techniques including score sheets, and physical site visits to ensure that the most deserving Municipalities received the shine.

Congratulations to all of the winners.

Related Articles


About Author

Mosuwa Lapi

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.